United Arab Emirates, 50 fils, 1393 AH (1973 AD)

My mother found this one for me. It’s old, from the 14th Century… Muslim century that is.

United Arab Emirates, 50 fils, 1393 AH (1973 AD) (KM #5)


In 1971, seven emirates on the southern shore of the Persian Gulf united into one nation, now known collectively as the UAE. They adopted the dirham as their currency, which, like many Arab nations, is divided not into 100 subunits but rather 1,000 subunits known as fils. This coin is 50 fils, which is akin to our American nickel. At current exchange rates, 50 fils is worth USD $0.014. I wonder how this coin came into US circulation for my mother to find in her pocket change. Did it ride home in the pocket of a tourist fresh from the 21st Century Las Vegas that we call Dubai? Was it brought here by a US soldier home from the Gulf? Or did it simply masquerade as a US quarter? I’ve got my money on the latter.

Mintage is 8,400,000
Metal Copper-nickel
Weight 6.57 g
Diameter 24.85 mm
Thickness 1.79 mm
Shape Round
Orientation Medal alignment ↑↑
Demonetized yes

Tags: ,

Leave a comment